Renovation Upper-Promenadedeck

The aft end of the Upper-Promenadedeck is being renovated. The teak deck was in a very bad condition. Now the wood has been removed the lengthening of the steel deck in about 1986 can be seen. Other interesting historical facts are the ‘diamond plate’ for placing artillery during military service and the hatch of the shaft to the engine room. The owner of the ship, WestCord Hotels, orderded this renovation to keep the ship in good shape.

Picture Ryan Derks

Picture Ryan Derks

Picture Ryan Derks

In the shops of the Rotterdam Drydock Company (RDM) steel was prepared for placing on board by signing it with ‘bov.prom.dek’ (upper-promenade deck). Picture Maarten Krijnen

Picture Maarten Krijnen

Removed parts of the teakdeck show the layer added in 2007/08 during the renovation, that caused problems. Picture Maarten Krijnen

The starboard part of the lengthened deck. Picture Maarten Krijnen

The hatch of the shaft to the engine room. Now the inside Lidobar is situated below. Picture Maarten Krijnen

Picture Maarten Krijnen

Picture Klaas Krijnen

Clearly the lengthening of the deck on port side can be seen. Picture Klaas Krijnen

The daimond plate at the border of the lengthened deck. It was a preparation for placing artillery during war-service. Picture Klaas Krijnen

ss Nieuw Amsterdam in the Library

In three showcases in the Library on Upper-Promenadedeck a small exhibition has been placed about the ss Nieuw Amsterdam. 80 years ago the ship was launched and in 1938 she was introduced as the new flagship of Holland America Line. She was very popular as a liner and cruiseship. In 1959 the ss Rotterdam took over as flagship. During the sixties both ship regularly made liner voyages between Rotterdam and New York, but they were more and more used as cruiseships. Though the ss Nieuw Amsterdam was scrapped in 1974 she still is very popular. Pictures by Jan-Willem Koene


At the bridge the chronometer is essential for navigation. Without a chronometer it is impossible to define the exact position of the ship when using the sextant. Unfortunately tot original chronometer has been removed from the ss Rotterdam. Observator Watersport in Rotterdam donated us a used chronometer, that has been placed on the bridge of the ss Rotterdam. We are very grateful to Observator Watersport  Picture by Jan-Willem Koene

De Schelde

A copy of the original builders’ plate of “De Schelde” has been mounted on the port low pressure turbine.

The turbines of the ss Rotterdam have been built by Royal “De Schelde” at Flushing, with a license of the Parsons Marine Turbine Company at Wallsend. When the ss Rotterdam was decommissioned in 1997 by Holland America Line many of the builders’ plates on board were removed by the engineers. One of them is Ronald Stolk who preserved the builders’ plate of the port low pressure turbine. Thanks to him we could let reproduce the plate bij Archeo Plan in Delft. One copy of synthetic material has been mounted on the turbine, almost 20 years after the removal of the original. A bronze copy has been placed in one of our showcases on C-deck.

The pictures were made by Jan-Willem Koene.

Work in progress

Our volunteers are restoring a cutting machine from the former printshop on board. The machine gets a new place near other historical instruments. In the engineroom several builders plates have been cleaned.